Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Pilgrim's Progress
Label: Aztec Music (Australia)
Catalogue No: (AVSCD032)
Format: CD (digipak)
Released: 2008
Price: $ 25.00
Harem Scarem - Pilgrim's Progress
Harem Scarem emerged from Melbourne's mid-80's indie scene, but, it could be argued, were closer in sound to classic Australian blues-rock from a decade before (Dingoes, Coloured Balls, Chain, Rose Tattoo etc.). Their sound was infused with a heady mix of punk spirit and Stax soul that also made them contemporaries of the likes of The Gun Club and the Beasts Of Bourbon.
Tracklisting: (76:44 m:s)
  1. Last Stand Man (3:08 m:s)
  2. Miracle Mile (3:17 m:s)
  3. Open Up And Bleed (4:43 m:s)
  4. Run On Down The Line (3:29 m:s)
  5. Lowdown (6:14 m:s)
  6. Animal Tracks (3:15 m:s)
  7. Cold Change (3:57 m:s)
  8. Pilgrim's Progress (4:22 m:s)
  9. Hard Rain (3:10 m:s)
  10. Let Me In (5:27 m:s)
  11. Dead Of The Night (4:26 m:s)
  12. Sweet Thing (5:24 m:s)
  13. Pilgrim's Progress (4:03 m:s)
  14. Let Me In (7:35 m:s)
  15. Dogman (7:08 m:s)
  16. Love Attraction (7:06 m:s)
Tracks 1 - 10 from Pilgrim's Progress  •  Tracks 11 & 12: (b-sides)  •  Tracks 13 & 14: (live)  •  Track 15: From the 'Dogman' EP  •  Track 16: From the 'Asleep At The Wheel' compile
Harem Scarem first appeared on the Melbourne Psychobilly compilation "Asleep at the Wheel". They soon developed (via the "Dogman" EP and some key line-up changes) into a powerhouse live act, where Christopher Marshall's extraordinary, passionate vocals combined with Charlie Marshall's stonesy guitar.

With the classic line-up of the Marshall brothers, Barry Palmer (guitar), Glen Sheldon (bass), Peter Jones (drums) and Chris Wilson (harmonica & sax), the band went into the studio with producer John Archer (Hunters & Collectors) and emerged with this, their masterful 1986 album: Pilgrim's Progress.