Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Driving You Insane
Label: Half A Cow (Australia)
Catalogue No: (HAC76)
Format: CD (jewel case)
Released: 1999
Price: $ 28.00
The Missing Links - Driving You Insane
1965, and before it was fashionable - and long before it was acceptable - a bunch of musical maniacs called the Missing Links were tearing up the stages of Sydney's inner city with their furious live shows. The length of their hair and manner of dress caused genuine concern among the establishment. Johnny O'Keefe, the so-called 'wild man of rock & roll', refused to allow the Missing Links to appear on his TV pop programme.

The Missing Links were a band without pretense or compromise. When they were billed as "Australia's wildest group", it wasn't the just the usual industry hyperbole or rhetoric - it was a statement of fact. And it's a fact that still holds true today. They predated punk, hard rock, metal and grunge. If you saw the Missing Links walking down the street today, as they appeared 33 years ago, you'd think nothing of it; their image hasn't dated at all. The Links' brief history is convoluted and confusing - even those involved don't recall exactly how events unfolded. Originally featuring Peter Anson, Danny Cox, Bob Brady, Dave Boyne and Ronnie Peel, within less than a year the lineup had changed completely to consist of Andy James, Doug Ford, John Jones, Chris Gray, Ian Thomas and Baden Hutchins. All were in their teens.

As wild as the first bunch had been, it was the second lineup who would really create the legend with their incredibly innovative sound and untamed stage behaviour. Their live shows were characterised by an auto-destructive performance held together by extended feedback rave-ups to a pounding jungle rhythm. On one occasion the squealing pitch of their guitars caused a mirrored ceiling to shatter and collapse into the audience.

Fortunately, the Missing Links have left us with a generous recorded legacy: four singles, an album and an EP. These are now so rare and in demand, that small fortunes have been spent by collectors in their quest for original Link's vinyl. The music can't be described, it has to be heard. And now at last it can be. Half A Cow have gathered all of the Link's material all on Driving You Insane. Included is the full story of the band(s), with a gallery of awesome, never-before-seen photos.
  1. Wild About You (A Anderson)
  2. Hobo Man (D Ford)
  3. Bald-headed Woman (S Talmy)
  4. Not To Bother Me (I Thomas)
  5. Mama Keep Your Big Mouth Shut (E McDaniels)
  6. Some Kinda Fun (J Lee / C Montez)
  7. You're Driving Me Insane (B Hutchins)
  8. Nervous Breakdown (M Roccuzzo)
  9. Speak No Evil (A Anderson)
  10. On The Road Again (B Dylan)
  11. All I Want (J Stannard / P Anson)
  12. H'tuom Tuhs (E McDaniels)
  13. Something Else (Sheeley / Cochran)
  14. I'll Go Crazy (J Brown)
  15. Don't Give Me No Fiction (Capps / Dean)
  16. One More Time (Morrison)
  17. Wooly Bully (Samudio)
Tracks 1 - 12: From the album The Missing Links  •  Track 13: Off the Philips single BF-213  •  Tracks 14 - 17: The Links Unchained EP