Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Smashed On A Knee
Label: Freeform Patterns (Australia)
Catalogue No: (FREE108)
Format: CD (digipac)
Released: July 2013
Price: $ 22.00
Powder Monkeys - Smashed On A Knee
Associated Releases:   Smashed On A Knee LP Version
The Powder Monkeys were one of the shining lights of Australian rock & roll in the 1990s, and for a brief moment were tipped to break it big in the US when they signed to Rick Rubin's Onion label, but unfortunately nothing concrete came of that deal. They released two albums on the renowned Melbourne-based Dog Meat in the '90s, then one on the Swedish House Of Kicks label later that decade (they toured Europe with The Hellacopters and the MC5's Wayne Kramer), as well as a couple of EPs and live discs on various labels.

Their recording history starts with 1993's Smashed On A Knee. The Powder Monkeys were formed in 1991, originally as a 5-piece, and featured members John Nolan (ex-Bored!) and Tim Hemensley (ex-GOD, Bored!) throughout their whole lifespan ('91-2003). Their sound was a dynamic combination of Detroit rock & roll (Stooges/MC5), '70s Aussie hard rock (Coloured Balls/Aztecs/Rose Tattoo), American punk (Dictators/Black Flag) and the bass-heavy roar of prime Motorhead. As an organic musical unit, they were a force of nature.

Out of print for 15 years, this special edition of their debut album has been newly remastered by Mikey Young (Eddy Current/Total Control), giving it the definition and punch the original unfortunately lacked, as well as three fantastic bonus cuts: a rare version of Isaac Hayes' I Thank You (played ZZ Top/Motorhead-style), as well as markedly different versions of album tracks, Another Nite In Hell and Atomic Resolution. The digipak booklet also features 20 pages of rare/unseen photos, flyers and essays from Mike Mariconda, David Laing (of Dog Meat Records), GOD/Hoss's Joel Silbersher, Radio Birdman's Deniz Tek, blogger/writer Dave Lang and the band's John Nolan: quite the package.

The Powder Monkeys were rightly considered one of the best Australian bands of their era, and now you get to hear and enjoy them once again, sounding better than ever.
  1. Another Nite In Hell
  2. I Stand Bare
  3. Persecution Blues
  4. Yin Yang
  5. Bruised Battered And Bloodshot
  6. Atomic Resolution
  7. Crank Me Up
  8. Ugly
  9. Valediction
  10. I Thank You
  11. Another Nite In Hell
  12. Atomic Resolution
Tracks 10 - 12: Bonus Tracks