Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Rob Snarski
Wounded Bird
Label: Tear Drop Records (Australia)
Catalogue No: (TRP701)
Format: CD (cardboard sleeve)
Released: August 2014
Price: $ 22.00
Rob Snarski  - Wounded Bird
After 25 years as the honey-voiced singer of the Blackeyed Susans, Rob Snarski is set to release his debut solo album, Wounded Bird.

Produced by Rob and longtime bandmate and collaborator Dan Luscombe with Yikesville studio boss Shane O'Mara, Wounded Bird foregoes the lush arrangements of The Blackeyed Susans for a stripped-back and intimate sound palette. Think Ricky Nelson meets Mazzy Star or the Everly Brothers if they'd been raised on a diet of Big Star's Third.

Assisting him are a coterie of musician friends: Luscombe and O'Mara, JP Shilo and Phil Kakulas from the 'Susans, as well as Clare Moore (vibes), Bruce Haymes (keyboards), Ashley Davies (drums) and 'some guy called Ralph' from Machine Translations.
Tracklisting: (44:01 m:s)
  1. Tender Like a Bruise (3:38 m:s)
  2. Temperature's Rising (3:05 m:s)
  3. Johnny Only (3:27 m:s)
  4. So Sad (to Watch Good Love Go Bad) (2:38 m:s)
  5. One Last Song (3:27 m:s)
  6. Lay of the Land (4:17 m:s)
  7. It Starts With Snow (2:56 m:s)
  8. Henry Small (4:27 m:s)
  9. The Black Caress (4:26 m:s)
  10. Christmas Card From a Drunken Sailor (4:19 m:s)
  11. Engine Driver (6:21 m:s)
Track By Track
Tender Like A Bruise - spooky ethereal keyboards (played by Bruce Haymes) weave through distorted guitars, in a bilateral reading of addiction to people and feelings, sort of good and sort of bad.

Temperature's Rising - summer in Australia - there's the great escape from the unrelenting heat to the beach - and on the other side of the coin there's the fear of fire and devastating heat - not a healthy combination.

Johnny Only - a coming out song, a different generation in a not-so-different world; a man simply wanting to be free.

So Sad To Watch Good Love Go Bad - classic country. A cover of the marvellous Everly Brothers classic, layered with butter melting harmonies - so sweet, so sad.

One Last Song - a morning song, hiding beneath sheets and skin as the world moves around a couple and their cat.

Lay Of The Land - backwards guitars and ominous weather looms ahead as the air lays still and words hang in the air, a couple of old friends discuss their past.

It Starts With Snow - An older song Rob wrote the song for a short animated film called "Colleen Spencer" made by Annette Trevitt which was part of the Melbourne Film Festival several years ago. The Bull Sisters also covered the song on their album "Love Is Mighty Close". Not as pretty as it sounds but then again unfaithfulness never is.

Henry Small - a poor chap grapples with a break-up, drifting in a sea of alcohol and neon lights, wandering the streets, simply hoping to dissolve. A song from a different world and age.

The Black Caress - a folk tale of sorts, lost in a Morricone musical landscape¬Ö a tale of a man scarred - literally.

Christmas Card From A Drunken Sailor - vibes (performed by Clare Moore) roll through a simply beautiful Christmas song. A card, an explanation, a realisation, all that bad behaviour well way back then, well it all makes more sense now.

Engine Driver - a lost song written by Gordy Blair (ex-Coral Snake/Dave Graney Band) for Rob to sing. The song has the biggest arrangement on the album, orchestral yet still lonesome, sheer beauty rings through. As true to the original recording as the chaps could get.