Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
To Hell 'n' Back
Label: Memorandum (Australia)
Catalogue No: (MEM006)
Format: CD + bonus DVD (gatefold cardboard wallet)
Released: March 2010
Price: $ 26.00
Grong Grong - To Hell 'n' Back
Hailing from Adelaide, proto grunge outfit Grong Grong bludgeoned Australian audiences throughout 1983-84, with their dark and aggressive take on punk rock. The band filtered its influences of Birthday Party, Cramps, Flipper and Pere Ubu through a suburban Australian mindset ... sounding like no-one before or since.

In 1983 they supported the Dead Kennedys and impressed frontman Jello Biafra so much they became the first and only Australian band to release an album on Biafra's Alternative Tentacles label. Guitarist Charlie Tolnay later performed with King Snake Roost, Lubricated Goat and collaborated with Jello Biafra and Steel Pole Bath Tub on the Tumour Circus album.

This deluxe reissue features the band's postumously released 1986 self titled LP, plus two unearthed studio demos, expanded live cuts from the Seaview Ballroom show that featured on the flip of their LP, nuggetty rehearsal tapes and their infamous live to air on Adelaide's 5MMM 1983 radiothon 'Gonk Show'. All tracks have been digitally remastered from original source tapes and are available for the first time on CD.

The package also contains a DVD (NTSC Region All) with 17 concert and rehearsal tracks, displaying the band in all their noisy, chaotic glory. Presented in a deluxe gatefold wallet with a detailed 20 page booklet stuffed with liner notes photos and original art - this will be a highly desirable package for fans of this extremely influential band and and connoisseurs of the Australian underground scene of the '70s-80s.
Tracklisting: Disc 1 (75:30 m:s)
  1. Grong Grong (4:31 m:s)
  2. Angels & Demons (5:11 m:s)
  3. Club Grotesque (4:03 m:s)
  4. Louie The Fly (3:32 m:s)
  5. Black Hell (3:59 m:s)
  6. Japanese Train Driver (3:20 m:s)
  7. Poor Herb (2:57 m:s)
  8. Vlad The Impaler (4:03 m:s)
  9. Looking At You (3:14 m:s)
  10. Who's Got It (3:43 m:s)
  11. Hills Have Eyes (2:52 m:s)
  12. Swine (3:55 m:s)
  13. Human Fly (2:39 m:s)
  14. Loose (2:59 m:s)
  15. Hungry Jack McDonald (3:43 m:s)
  16. Meat Axe (5:16 m:s)
  17. Poor Herb (The Gongk Show) (4:37 m:s)
  18. Loose (The Gongk Show) (3:49 m:s)
  19. Grong Grong (The Gongk Show) (4:15 m:s)
  20. Hills Have Eyes (The Gongk Show) (2:53 m:s)

Tracklisting: Disc 2 (DVD - NTSC, REGION ALL)
  1. Looking At You
  2. Japanese Train Driver
  3. Grong Grong
  4. Club Grotesque
  5. Swine
  6. Life Stinks
  7. Club Grotesque
  8. Hills Have Eyes
  9. Splitting Sides
  10. Life Stinks
  11. Human Fly
  12. Meat Axe
  13. Who's Got It
  14. Grong Grong
  15. Splitting Sides
  16. Looking At You
  17. Tracks 1-6: Thebarton Town Hall, 1984 • Tracks 7-12: Rehearsal Room, 1993 • Track 13: Seaview Ballroom, 1983 • Tracks 14-16: The Sett Up, 1983