Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Moving At The Speed Of Sound
Label: Turkeyneck (Australia)
Catalogue No: (TN22)
Format: CD (jewel case)
Released: 2010
Price: $ 22.00
Jim Rockfords - Moving At The Speed Of Sound
Is this the future of the Bar Band? The Jim Rockfords' debut 11 track album Moving at the Speed of Sound is hard edged R'nB' tinged garage punk with a swag of songs full of regret, loss and booze filled redemption. This is maximum R'nB' crossed with boogie boogie heaviness. Think Coloured Balls mixed with the Supersuckers. Led by the all singing all harmonica slinging reprobate Junior Hickey and his cast of Brisbane barflies.
Tracklisting: (33:01 m:s)
  1. Love You To Death (1:54 m:s)
  2. Tail Lights (2:32 m:s)
  3. Speed of Sound (3:47 m:s)
  4. Putty In Your Hands (2:35 m:s)
  5. She's on Fire (2:10 m:s)
  6. Dead Mans Boots (3:48 m:s)
  7. Have You Seen My Baby (2:45 m:s)
  8. Whipping Post (3:27 m:s)
  9. Postcard (2:47 m:s)
  10. Temptation (3:11 m:s)
  11. Stay out Late (4:10 m:s)
An Introduction to the Jim Rockfords
The Jim Rockfords got together December 2007, when Fred (of 6fthick fame) and Junior, (a familiar voice and rocking harp player in the Blues scene) approached Kylie Lovejoy (bassist for Lovejoy and Chick Flick) about bringing some toons they penned to life. Then Phil Wilson (Blowhard, Chucknee) Greg Jard (Blowhard) were in and 3 weeks later they were thrown into their first gig.

Originally under the guise of a side project, it then took on a life of it's own, playing gigs galore and treating audiences with a lethal dose of their Pineapple flavoured muscular Motorbilly Rock and Roll. They soon had a loyal following and a reputation as a high energy live act, pulling together a sound that references the 50's as much as the now, but never hanging off the coat tails of either. After a whirlwind tour of France, Greg fled from the constant gigging and Mitchy Mahem took over the skins.

Now finally come October 2010 a well overdue debut album has been recorded at Blackbox studios with Recording extraordinaire Jeff Lovejoy (Powderfinger, Cruel Sea, Regurgitator to name but a few) ...