Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
We Make The Music
Label: Impedance (Australia)
Catalogue No: (IMPD026)
Format: CD (digipak)
Released: 2011
Price: $ 18.00
Leadfinger - We Make The Music
Also from Leadfinger:   Various Releases  Associated Releases:  Asteroid B-612:  Various Releases
Leadfinger are a band whose members hail from Sydney and Wollongong in NSW. They have been rockin' and rolling up and down the East Coast of Australia for 5 years releasing 2 albums and an EP. Songwriter/guitarist Stewart Cunningham paid his dues in bands such as Proton Energy Pills, Brother Brick, Asteroid B-612, The Yes-Men and more for 15 years before forming Leadfinger.
Tracklisting: (49:59 m:s)
  1. We Make The Music (3:25 m:s)
  2. Dragon On My Chain (4:05 m:s)
  3. Anthem For The Unimpressed (4:17 m:s)
  4. Fourteen (4:10 m:s)
  5. Come & Dance (4:59 m:s)
  6. Segue 2 (1:20 m:s)
  7. Eucalyptus Blues (5:57 m:s)
  8. Leaving (4:33 m:s)
  9. The Price You Pay (3:32 m:s)
  10. No Reflection (5:59 m:s)
  11. Untitled (2:36 m:s)
  12. Beside Me, Against Me (5:06 m:s)
Cunningham has developed his own unique songwriting style that fuses roots, indie, blues and rock influences ... .the result is a band with a timeless rock'n'roll sound and great songs that sits them comfortably in the same stinky bandroom as such luminaries as the Replacements, The Black Keys, Wilco, The Drones, Sloan, Ryan Adams ... .and classic Australian rock'n'roll a la Sunnyboys, Birdman and You Am I.

Now the official release of their 3rd album - We Make the Music - locally through Impedance Records with international release through European label Bang! Records.

We Make the Music was recorded through winter 2010 at Sydney's Big Jesus Burger Studios with young gun JP Fung manning the controls. The band went for a genuine 70's vintage analogue sound a la the records of Big Star, Flamin' Groovies and the Rolling Stones - Exile on Main Street, trying to capture the real sounds of their instruments - they recorded live to tape, using old amps, old microphones and guitars and even mixed the record on fly through the old Neve desk at BJB. The album has plenty of embellishment with percussion, piano, Hammond organ, Slide guitar, mandolin and lush acoustic guitars all featuring alongside the bands live set up of 2 guitars. bass and drums.

The thread that holds the album together is the key lyrical theme that emanates from the album's title and grows into a stripped bare tell-all about the realities of playing in a band and making music for the fun and the love of the song ... .not to say this is bitter or dark album by any stretch, rather a celebration of the relationships that bond a group of people into becoming real 'band' ... ...

We Make the Music is Cunningham's anthem/antidote to the music industry's false prophets of hype and fake reality TV creations that can never replicate or live up to the quality and diversity of music created by real people in real bands who do it for the love of music, not for fame. The title song was inspired by the lines from the Gene Wilder movie/Roald Dahl novel beloved by kids and adults the world over Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory - "We are the Music Makers and We are the dreamers of the dreams ... "