Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Radios Appear (Trafalgar Version)
Label: Citadel (Australia)
Catalogue No: (citcd579)
Format: Double CD in 6 panel wallet
Released: November 27th 2015
Price: $ 22.00
* Previously released as part of the now deleted Radio Birdman CD Box Set

Radio Birdman - Radios Appear (Trafalgar Version)
Also from Radio Birdman:   Various Releases   Associated:   Deniz Tek: Various New Christs: Various
Radios Appear was Radio Birdman's first full length album. Recorded piecemeal over 1976 and early 1977, on weekends and nights when their home base (Trafalgar Studios Sydney) had no paying customers, it was finally released on the Trafalgar label, created specifically to release their records. In addition to mail order, the album was literally distributed by hand and out of the back of cars, thus writing the Australian handbook on DIY independent music.

It was hailed as a breakthrough album in Australian music, a turning point after the scene's early and mid seventies stagnation. Radios Appear was given a 5 star review in Rolling Stone, and the album gave the band a needed boost to depart Sydney as a national touring entity, while still maintaining their renegade status.

"Indeed, Radio Birdman was, for a moment, the greatest Rock & Roll band in the world. In the pressure cooker of the Oxford Tavern, Birdman cranked the sound harder and faster and pushed every moment to its limit. Birdman never played at anything less than full intensity. When was the last time that you danced non-stop for an hour and a half? When was the last time that you actually saw a band so overload the sound system that it fell apart on stage? When did you see a band that really didn't give a fuck what you or anybody else thought of them? They never played the same set twice. It was inspiring. It was, in fact, exactly what they tell you Rock & Roll is about but almost never is."   Toby Creswell August 2014
Disc 1 - Radios Appear (Trafalgar Version)
  1. T.V. Eye (The Stooges) (4:22 m:s)
  2. Murder City Nights (D Tek) (2:24 m:s)
  3. Anglo Girl Desire (D Tek) (3:22 m:s)
  4. Man With Golden Helmet (D Tek / S Kambly) (5:38 m:s)
  5. Descent into The Maelstrom (D Tek) (4:22 m:s)
  6. Monday Morning Gunk (D Tek) (3:03 m:s)
  7. Do The Pop (D Tek / M Sisto) (2:35 m:s)
  8. Love Kills (D Tek) (3:44 m:s)
  9. Hand Of Law (D Tek) (4:45 m:s)
  10. New Race (D Tek) (4:32 m:s)
Disc 2 - Radios Appear (Trafalgar Version Bonus Disc)
  1. Smith And Wesson Blues (D Tek) (3:04 m:s)
  2. I 94 (D Tek / C Jones) (3:37 m:s)
  3. Snake (D Tek) (3:07 m:s)
  4. Burn My Eye (D Tek) (1:52 m:s)
  5. Love Kills (D Tek) (3:53 m:s)
  6. Insane Alive (G Jeffreys / D Tek) (4:17 m:s)
  7. I 94 (D Tek / C Jones) (3:49 m:s)
  8. Descent Into The Maelstrom (D Tek) (4:20 m:s)
  9. Man With Golden Helmet (D Tek / S Kambly) (5:39 m:s)
  10. Snake (D Tek) (3:16 m:s)
  11. Hand Of Law (D Tek) (4:52 m:s)
  12. Anglo Girl Desire (D Tek) (3:25 m:s)
Tracks 1- 4: From the 1976 EP 'Burn My Eye' (Trafalgar / ME-109)
Tracks 5 - 12: Outtakes mixed from original masters and previously unreleased.