Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
The Waterfront Years 1991 - 1993
Label: Aztec Music (Australia)
Catalogue No: (AVSCD055)
Format: Double CD (digipak)
Released: November 2010
Price: $ 30.00
Tumbleweed - The Waterfront Years 1991 - 1993
"With a look and sound that mixed the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers with the Grateful Dead and Black Sabbath, Tarrawanna (near Wollongong, NSW) five-piece Tumbleweed was the ultimate stoner's band for the 1990s". Ian McFarlane from The Encyclopedia Of Rock And Pop

Although often lumped into the 'grunge' movement (a national support to Nirvana's only Australian tour in 1992 only added to this), Tumbleweed's sound was arguably more 'stoner rock', and closer in style to bands like Kyuss and earlier antecedents like Black Sabbath or Australia's Buffalo.

With their high-riffing, fuzz-drenched, wah wah guitar, propulsive beats and and languid vocal melodies - and the hair ... oh, so much hair! - Tumbleweed rose quickly to become one of Australia's most popular bands of the early nineties. Armed with a great image (enhanced by guitarist Lenny's striking artwork) and a swag of memorable tunes, the band also enjoyed success in the UK, Europe and US.

In 1991, Tumbleweed signed to Sydney's Waterfront Records and, in a little over two years, released some classic singles and EP's (including Daddy Long Legs, Sundial, Acid Rain and Stoned) plus a self-titled album - all of which achieved the rare feat of both critical and commercial success.

Aztec have collected all 35 tracks from that fertile period into a 2CD set. Some rarities, such as their first single Captain's Log / Space Friends - produced by Mudhoney's Mark Arm - make their first appearance on CD. This deluxe 2CD release has been digitally remastered and contains two sets of notes - all packaged in an 8 panel digipak with a 28 page booklet packed with lots of rare photos, Lenny's terrific drawings and images of all releases.
Tracklisting: Disc 1 Singles, EPs & Rarities (1991-1993)
  1. Captain's Log
  2. Space Friends
  3. Healer
  4. Stoned
  5. Holy Moses
  6. Carousel
  7. Millennium
  8. Shakedown
  9. Fish out of Water
  10. Come & Get It
  11. Fritz
  12. The Sky is High
  13. Rainbow Waterwillow
  14. Funky
  15. Lullaby
  16. Sundial
  17. Sweet Young Thing
  18. Mr. Pharmacist
  19. Mad, Mad, Mad
  20. 48 Brain Cells

Tracklisting: Disc 2 Tumbleweed
  1. Sundial
  2. Healer
  3. White Skin Black Soul
  4. A Darkness at Never Never
  5. God
  6. Ocean
  7. Dandylion Part 1
  8. Atomic
  9. Acid Rain
  10. Starseed
  11. Dreamchaser
  12. Dandylion Part 2
  13. Daddy Long Legs
  14. Junior
  15. Trouble Every Day
Tracks 13-15: bonus tracks