Citadel Mailorder Logo
Artist search by letter: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
All Your Love
Label: I94 Bar (Australia)
Catalogue No: (I94BAR002)
Format: CD (jewel case)
Released: June 2009
Price: $ 25.00
Mick Medew and the Rumours - All Your Love
Associated Releases:   Mick Medew & The Mesmerisers: :  All Your Love
Rolling out of Brisbane like a sub-tropical thunderstorm, the driving guitar sound of debut album All Your Love has landed for Mick Medew And The Rumours. Comprising Mick Medew (guitar and lead vocals), Ash Geary (guitar and vocals), Paul Hawker (bass and vocals) and Chris Dixon (drums), the Rumours coalesced in 2004.
Tracklisting: (29:49 m:s)
  1. Spinning Wheel (3:58 m:s)
  2. When The Wood Is Brown (2:40 m:s)
  3. All Your Love (2:47 m:s)
  4. Ready To Fall (2:29 m:s)
  5. Overdo Everything (4:28 m:s)
  6. Start The Show (3:09 m:s)
  7. Another Girl, Another Planet (3:04 m:s)
  8. Way Down Low (3:43 m:s)
  9. Mary Jane (3:41 m:s)
Mick Medew's name is synonymous with the Brisbane underground scene. In the late '70s and with bandmates who went onto the Hoodoo Gurus, the Hitmen and Died Pretty, he was a member of legendary inner-city act The 31st before kick-starting the Screaming Tribesmen with drummer Murray Shepherd (Fun Things) and bassist John Hartley. Their first seven-inch single, Igloo, dominated the Australian independent music charts for two years and launched a series of evolving line-ups.

The subsequent Date With a Vampyre EP, sat at the top of the local charts for 40 weeks. The Tribesmen signed to Rykodisc in the USA and hit the American and European touring circuits and only called it a day in the mid-'90s.

Medew took a break from music and All Your Love is his first recording in 15 years. The Rumours cite MC5, Roky Erickson, Blue Oyster Cult, the New York Dolls, David Bowie, The Dictators and Manitoba's Wild Kingdom as primary influences, and if you listen hard enough to the alternately open-chord chiming and overdriven attack of the guitars you can also hear a whole slew of '60s punk roots.

In a neat piece of fate, Ready to Fall is a Medew co-write with Ron Peno (Died Pretty) and a renewal of the partnership that penned the Tribesmen's successful Igloo nearly a quarter-of-a-century ago.

"This is an album for lovers of truly immense-sounding guitars that dominate the mix in a way that we haven't heard since, I dunno, Turbonegro's Apocalypse Dudes, or maybe the Dictators' D.F.F.D. Cue up any track and you'll find yourself swimming in layers upon layers of 'em. this is the kind of album I didn't think anybody made anymore in 2009: a bona fide Big Rawk Rekkid, brimming with fistfuls of guitars and melody." - Ken Shimamoto, Fort Worth Weekly